I have been SO busy with quite a few things so there’ll be a couple posts here. BUT I know you have been waiting to see what my Halloween pumpkin looked like!!!

Tah-daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah

My very first time carving a pumpkin :) I think it went alright… there were a few snags here and there, but generally it was painless. The gah-rossest part was getting the guts out. I refused to touch them. So I left them all in there and would turn the pumpkin to scrape the sides and then once I was pretty good into it I used paper towels to get the guts out. I’m pretty sure I’da puked if I had to do it by hand. The little bit that got on my hand grossed me out… Anywho, once that was done I sat down to carve it and made my stencil by hand [yeah I know, I made those nice stencils for ya’ll and didn’t even think to do one for myself]. I punched most of the stencil in using a carving kit from Wal-Mart and then basically went at it.

It only took me a couple hours – which I thought was amazing. I thought it might take all freakin day. But Rob had gone to baseball [4 hours of wonderful alone time quiet for me] and I started the whole process when he left, and right when he got home I finished it!

I had a “lighting ceremony” and everything with him, me and the dog… lol but it was fun! And I was very proudof my work. Of course, I still see flaws… but that’s just me being an annoying perfectionist artist. Can you tell where the design came from? ;)

It only lasted one night, because the lines were so thin, but that’s ok. I was only really hoping for one good night of glory! The funniest part was, the second day it was out, I didn’t plan on lighting it, but I came home to this. The neighbor loved my pumpkin, and unbeknownst to me, I won a pumpkin carving contest. Hahahahah The paper says, “The WINNER! #1” and has a 1st place trophy drawn on it! It was hilarious.

All in all it was fun to see my pumpkin all lit up. Now, I KNOW a bunch of you pulled off some of those carving templates, so LEMME SEE! Email pictures to lezleelliott [at] gmail [dot] com if you’ve gottem :)

Til’ next year…

